I don't need a co-founder. I can to everything myself

I would love to go back in time and punch myself in the face hard.

This was me not so long ago.

I was a software engineer building a software company. I didn't need anyone.

I would love to go back in time and punch myself in the face hard.

Why? Because I was looking at it all wrong.

Let me explain:

But before I tell you, let me first give you some context.

I'm building a SaaS in public, posting progress every day today is day 18.

I'm adding lessons from my mistakes and learning from current events.

I'm live-sharing as I build holding nothing back.

If you're interested, you can binge-read all the past updates in my newsletter.

My old way of thinking about cofounders was wrong. I was letting my arrogance and small thinking get the best of me.

I thought I didn't need a co-founder. I thought I could figure out all the things I wasn't good at. I also thought I be swimming in cash in less than 6 months. But this is a story for another time.

When I applied for YC, I started learning that having a cofounder was in my best interest. Getting into YC as a solo founder is INSANELY hard, very few pulled it off.

Here's a mind-blowing bit of data:

Of the top 100 most successful YC companies, only 4 were founded by a solo founder. The last solo founder making the list of YC's top 100 companies participated in the 2017 batch.

7 years ago.

All the signs were there, but did I listen? Of course I didn't. I didn't need a co-founder. I was a special snowflake with everything figured out.

Fast forward a year and one failed startup, and I understand why most of us need a co-founder.

The biggest mindset shift was to put my ego aside and realize that isn't a competition. It's about finding someone who's complementary that you can trust when the worst happens.

A good co-founder saves you from your stupidity. This is priceless

There are 2 major areas in which a co-founder will have a massive impact:

Productivity and moral support

Productivity

The obvious is "You can go twice as fast with a cofounder". But going deeper than that, another pair of eyes will increase the quality of your output.

It's very easy to build with tunnel vision and take things for granted. Someone looking over what you're doing and asking questions about it will help a lot. The quality of your product will increase with very little effort.

They also provide accountability. That is invaluable too. Let's say, for example, you commit to something on a daily standup, the next day your co-founder will expect progress updates on that. When you're alone you can make up excuses and believe whatever you come up with.

Moral support

Life hits hard. Startup life hits hard. Unless your last name is Balboa and you can pick yourself up every time. You'll need somebody to rely on.

Having somebody to help during the darkest time of your startup journey is a blessing. Having somebody to help you weather the storm, means you don't have to take everything on by yourself.

They can also save you from yourself: they can act as an ego check.

When you're a solo founder your word is final. You don't have to justify your thinking to anyone.

That is the biggest problem of being a solo founder.

You NEED somebody telling you things the way they are.

"But I don't want to give away half of my company!!"

Post a comment if you just said this while reading.

My best mate said to me yesterday: 50% of nothing is nothing.

If you need to give 50% of your company to somebody for a chance that your 50% is worth something, you should 100% do it. (a co-founder is at least 10% equity BTW)

Trust me, take 50% of something instead of 100% of nothing.

I took 100% of nothing. It sucks.

To start getting paid, I have started a consultancy firm with an old friend. I'm also creating a new SaaS in public. While he's not involved in the building, he's there to support me and I bounce ideas off him all the time.

He was the first person to tell me that this whole project was a good idea and I should go for it

So if you don't like my post, is partially his fault!

Progress update

- I have a goal to have a production-ready page by the end of the week. I'm on track to get there. Hopefully, there will be a demo to share by Sunday.

Celebrations

That's because there are 32 legends subscribed to the newsletter.

When I get to 50 I'll do a video doing 50 pushups to celebrate.

The LinkedIn newsletter is going strong too. The are 141 subscribers now. Next obvious stop: 10.000!

I also post more hot takes on X and talk about my workouts. The best thing about X is that you can post as much as you want and your reach is not capped.

I cannot thank you all enough for your help and support, you're all legends!

Reply

or to participate.