Only successful founders to this?

They sell their product. Here's the story on how I screwed up

They sell their product.

In a previous post, I talked about how sales are hard as a tech founder.

In that post, I promised I'd talk about why you should do sales as founder so here I am talking about it.

When I started my first SaaS I thought I could avoid doing sales.

Boy was I wrong.

But before I tell you about this, let me give you some context:

  • I'm building a SaaS in public, posting progress every day today is day 25.

  • I'm adding lessons from my mistakes and learning from current events.

  • I'm live-sharing as I build holding nothing back.

  • If interested, you can binge-read all the past updates in my newsletter.

Let me first address the elephant in the room: giving your product away for free.

Don't offer your product for free so you don't have to worry about sales.

Trust me I did that. My brilliant plan was:

Offer the product for free, get feedback, and iterate on the product based on the input. Eventually charge my users.

It was a colossal failure.

The main problem was that not charging for my product meant I didn't have any customers. Not having customers meant not having a recurring stream of revenue that could sustain my company.

That inevitably leads to failure.

I'm an engineer, I wasn't comfortable doing sales. that plan was an attempt to stay in my comfort zone while still attempting to make money.

After months of nothing moving and wasting money, I finally understood. I needed to get customers and so I started charging for my product.

By the time something was moving in the right direction I ran out of time and money.

Don't make the same mistake I made.

Here's what I learned from this experience.

Doing sales as a founder is not a chore is probably one of the most powerful weapon you have.

To sell to people you need to know what problem they have and have a solution for their problems. This is the definition of a successful business in a nutshell.

Having a solution for their problems ensures you're building the right thing.

When you're selling a solution to a problem people with that problem will buy it. If they don't you're either:

  • not articulating the solution well enough for them to understand it

  • not solving their problem

There is one question you're probably asking yourself right now:

Where the hell am I going to find potential customers?!

I read tons of material and none of that worked for me.

I'm going to tell you what I did and what worked for me.

I tried:

  • giving my product away for free - didn't work

  • run ads for my free product - didn't work

  • building a lead magnet for my product - didn't work

  • run ads to a paid product I built - didn't work

  • start building a personal brand and send people to my product(s) - worked but is incredibly slow

  • reached out to 83 people manually - worked. I got about 12 customers this way

  • ask my customers for referrals - other people who might enjoy my product. Worked incredibly well, 6 new customers this way

I didn't get enough customers to pay me a salary but two things worked: reaching out to people manually and asking for referrals.

The good old advice "do things that don't scale" was the only thing that worked.

Unfortunately, I was too much of an engineer to understand what that meant.

Hopefully, this post will be eye-opening if you're in a similar situation I was in.

I want to cover one last thing to avoid:

Don't hire a sales team in the beginning.

Do sales yourself.

This will ensure you get first-hand experience on how your customers are seeing your product. Will allow you to set the right direction and solve the right problem.

Getting second-hand knowledge from your sales team will not have the same benefits for you or your company.

Over to you know:

  • do you do sales yourself as a founder?

  • what's the hardest thing about sales for you?

  • have you made similar mistakes to mine?

Progress

Recap

  • I started a SaaS 2 years ago. I failed at making it take off.

  • I had a problem: I wasted tons of time and money in creating landing pages that sucked.

  • To make it worse, I wasted tons of money on ads that would send traffic to terrible landing pages.

  • I spent an insane amount of time learning about copywriting and buyer psychology and I created landing pages that converted

  • Unfortunately, it was too late. I ran out of time and money.

  • I started a consultancy gig with a friend and I wanted to do something to apply all my learnings and failures.

  • I decided to live to share me build something new in public from scratch

  • I'm documenting the journey and the actions I'm taking every day. Also adding learning from my experience

  • I formulated a hypothesis: "People are willing to pay for a product that makes it easy to create high-converting landing pages."

  • I did a few user interviews to confirm the hypothesis.

  • After doing enough interviews I had enough confidence to build an MVP.

  • I shared the initial MVP with a few people and I got positive results.

  • I'm getting ready to onboard customers now

Latest

  • After battling with subdomain and auth for a day or so I finally shipped a version of the product where I can create accounts for individual customers

  • I have created a stripe link for people to pay me, not I need to look for customers

  • I want to find 1 customer by the end of the week

Celebrations

More and more legends joining the ranks!

  • The newsletter is steadily growing! 44 subscribers now! 7 more to go for a 50 pushups video!

  • I lost 1 subscriber from the LinkedIn newsletter. Had to happen sooner or later but I'm sad about it

  • I've got 198 followers on X. Help me breach the 200 mark!

I cannot thank you all enough for your help and support, you're all legends!

How would you rate this issue?

The biggest room in my house is the room for improvement. Don't hold back, give me the good and the bad.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.