Investor update - Revealing all the numbers

I don't have investors but I have you investing your time in reading my posts

I'm building a SaaS in public, posting progress every day. I don't have investors but I have people investing their time in reading my posts.

This updates it for them. It also helps me write better investor updates.

Disclaimer: I don't know what I'm doing, this is an exercise to push me out of my comfort zone.

Hi all,

I'm happy to report that building a SaaS live going quite well. I am very excited to report that I'm finally onboarding customers!

Thank you for your faith in me. Let's get to it!

TL;DR;

  • I have an initial profit goal of £100. I'm actively reaching out to potential customers so there will be some movement on this soon.

  • I keep doing user interviews to dig further into the landing page space

  • I have created a demo page to showcase what the product can do, you can see it here 

For the more technically minded, that page has a lighthouse score of 85 which is quite good considering the nature of the product

Asks

  • [Intro requests] I'm looking for solopreneurs who struggle with their landing page marketing efforts. If you are one of them or know one, please let me know or get in touch.

Performance review

I had ONE key metric last week: early customers.

I had the goal of having 3 customers by this time today. I didn't hit it.

I am sad to report that after scheduling 3 sales calls, all 3 people had to reschedule.

I had a secondary metric: user interviews

I wanted to talk with at least 3 people: I hit that number.

The ONE key metric for next week is still early customers.

I aim to have 3 customers by this time next week. This is not the time to be ambitious, this is the time to get in as many wins as possible.

Posts performance

Reddit:

  • Averaging 60k views across 4 subreddits. 22k views less than last week.

  • The drop in views can be attributed to adding a flair to my posts. When flair was added posts didn't even reach 1k views. Not adding flair posts averages 3k views.

  • Still amazing numbers

Linkedin:

  • 3,529 post impressions over the past 7 days. - Almost 500 less than last week. The trend has now been negative for two consecutive weeks

  • 167 LinkedIn Newsletter subscribers. +20 from last week. The trend has now been positive for two consecutive weeks.

Newsletters:

  • 44 subscribers in total. +11 from last week. The trend has now been positive for two consecutive weeks.

  • Sources: 33 from direct traffic. 8 from Reddit. 3 from LinkedIn

  • This is the channel that I'm excited about. Amazing progress given how hard is to grow a mailing list.

Future outlook:

  • ICP is still undefined. For now, is "Solopreneur who struggles creating landing pages"

  • Aiming to have at least 3 customers by the end of next week.

  • Top-line metrics will soon be the only focus.

Highlights:

  • I can finally onboard customers. I've reached out to 7 people. 3 schedules a call.

  • The amount of encouragement and support I keep receiving is insane. Blowing me away every single day.

Lowlights:

  • Engagement this week was good, but not great. Mostly trending negatively which is worrying

  • Some technical issues prevented me from having the MVP ready for customers on time and I had to delay the sale outreach by almost 2 days. This is a huge deal at this stage of the company.

Feel free to reach out if you have any questions or concerns

Till next time!

Matt

If you are an investor, I would LOVE for you to rate this update. I will make sure to share any feedback I get from this.

Please add something in the comments, good or bad. I'm super interested to hear from you.

I will share your feedback in my next update.

Context

  • In case none of this makes any sense, here's some context:

  • I wasted tons of time and money in creating landing pages that sucked.

  • I wasted tons of money on ads that would send traffic to terrible landing pages.

  • I formulated a hypothesis: "People are willing to pay for a product that makes it easy to create high-converting landing pages."

  • I did a few user interviews to confirm the hypothesis.

  • The hypothesis was too generic, obvious, and not specific enough.

  • After doing enough interviews I had enough confidence to build an MVP.

  • The main driving factor was the universal answer to the question "What's hard about creating a landing page?". "The content and the structure" was the answer.

  • My business model will be a monthly subscription starting at £10 a month for the first 10 customers.

  • After I've onboarded the first few customers I'll have a better idea for pricing.

This is a two-way conversation, I have a few questions for you:

  • what do you think about this update, did you like it? did it make sense?

  • any suggestions on something to improve?

I'll post charts and pictures in the newsletter and the LinkedIn newsletter

Thanks for reading!

How would you rate this issue?

The biggest room in my house is the room for improvement. Don't hold back, give me the good and the bad.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.